I don't want to have to approve applications for trade accounts before the customer can use them, how do I do this?

By default, you'll have to approve applications for trade accounts before the customer can use the account.

You can override this setting if you want to.

Click 'settings' from the left hand menu and then 'b2b'.

For the question 'auto activate trade accounts created on website' select 'Yes'.

Don't forget to save your changes when you're done.